First seizure

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

sharonj

New
Reaction score
Hi, I'm brand new to this and a llittle shellshocked! I am 54 and 3 days ago had my first Grand mal seizure. As far as I remember nothing was different beforehand and I remember almost nothing until I reached hospital. My husband was alerted by a groaning sound and came in to find me convulsing and foaming. Apparently I went blue and he thought I was stopping breathing so he gave me chest contractions.
I have had an mri but need to have that repeated on Tuesday although it seems for technical reasons. So im in limbo. My husband will barely let me out of his sight and I just don't know how to live normally? Please help!

Welcome Sharonj,

This forum was made out of love for his wife Stacey. That love permeates throughout the whole forum.

Your husband is worried, he does not know what to expect. He probably knows very little about epilepsy. Sometimes, my husband has had to worry about me.

Hi sharonj, welcome to CWE!

:hugs:

I still remember my very first seizures (over 15 years ago) and how disorienting and disturbing the whole thing was when I came to in the hospital.