How I schedule my seizures for early mornings

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Zolt

New
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

New here, my background is having seizures after a brain tumor was removed from my head few yrs back. After being on a few medications, i'm now on Gabapentin, i take 3 x a day, 600mg each time.

Well i've noticed something very interesting with this new drug, i'm having seizures early in the mornings.

11 of my 12 seizures last yr were all like 40 min after i woke. I seem to have on average 1 seizure per month. So roughly it takes 30 days for the electricity to build up to the point where the electricity overloads causing my seizures. Well the reason I think why the seizures are happening in the morning is because of Gabapentin, the medicine i’m on. I take it 3 times a day, 600mg each time, morning noon and night, 7am, 1pm, 7pm. This medicine only seems to work for 6 hrs, so in the mornings the medicine is not covering me anymore when I wake at 6am. I normally get up at 6am and do my wake up routine. So basically since the med only works for 6 hrs, between 6-7am i'm not being covered. Since i am not covered in that 1st hour between 6-7am I have my seizures during that time. I take my medicine normally around 7am. I could take the medicine as soon as i wake up, but i think it's great to have the seizures in the mornings, then going through the day worrying if one will happen.