I Am New To All Of This..Help?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hey there everyone. I'm new to all of this so I was hoping that I could get some tips or help or at least something to go off of. I am 25 and just had my 2nd seizure ever. The first seizure was believed to be due to 2 medicines I took at the same time (which no one told me was a bad idea until AFTER I took them) however, this 2nd seizure I was on no medicine other than birth control. Both of these seizures have happened in the past year, actually they are almost a year apart exactly. I found a new neurologist and she put me on Aptiom as a stand alone drug. Does anyone have idea about this drug? Pills honestly scare the living hell out of me, especially seeing all of the bad side effects that are common, so I was wondering if anyone had tried it and had any useful info on it?

Please let me know!

Hi and welcome to CWE!

Out of curiosity, what were the two medications that caused your seizure?