Jobs for Epilepsy?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
I am a Correctional Officer, diagnosed 4 months ago with partial seizures due to brain surgery in Jan. I am going to have to quit if we don't get these under control. But I am a singlemom and need a source of income. Any suggestions would be appreciated :)

I'm sorry :( I wish I had suggestions. I am also looking for a job, and my husband is out of work too!!

I wish you the best of luck, I hope you can get some answers and find a solution!

Hi raptor9117,

Welcome to CWE. Sorry to see your epilepsy was brought on by brain surgery.

I had brain surgery in March last year & since the surgery my seizures have been under control. Before my surgery I had a lot of trouble holding down a paid job as I would get stressed or overtired which would bring on a seizure. I am unemployed at the moment & looking for paid work. While looking for work I keep myself busy by doing voluntary work.

This thread might be of interest
http://www.coping-with-epilepsy.com/forums/f20/can-you-work-epilepsy-16419/

I hope you can get your seizures under control.

Last edited:
Sorry I can't offer advice :(
I just want to wish you the best, a lot of people on this site are in similar positions, so if nothing else you've got people to talk to.

I'm out of work next year too :(