low mood with jamais vu and deja vu

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

jojobelle

New
Reaction score
Hi all
Its my first time on here - my lovely, 32 year old boyfriend has actually already signed up and posted on here by means of finding support for himself, so that he can better support me (its me who has epilepsy, not him thank goodness).
Having a really low day and a low week following a 3 day hospital stay from 26th March.
Epilepsy (temporal lobe) had gone quiet for quite a while (a good few months since full blown seizure/seizures) with the exception of some auras and 'deja vu', which I felt I could handle.
Had 3 days off work after a middle of the night seizure (which naturally frightened my partner), a 2nd seizure around 8 hours later and the 3rd, 4th and 5th seizures in hospital.

I've had near-on total memory loss for the 1st-5th period and some, partial but substantial memory loss even from the weeks before and thus, real 'jamais vu'. I've been relying on those I love to tell me things from recent memory.

My medication was recently altered in so far as Lamotrigine I have been on since the very start was increased with Keppra from more recent years been halved and switching from the contraceptive Pill to the Coil (under direction from my neurologist, reasoning being to make my medication more effective - kind of back-fired on us unfortunately!!)