Military/Epilepsy?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

jcc180

New
Reaction score
I am New to Epilepsy, i was literally just diagnosed a few days ago.
Anyway i am currently in the coast guard where i have been serving for the past two years. The military was something i have wanted to do since i can remember. And then in later years i wanted to pursue law enforcement. Any way i have herd mixed things in the coast guard about being discharged and not being discharged.
I am on lamictal.
the coast guard told me that i will have to go in front of a med. board and ultimately discharged. Yet my chief seems to think there must be a way around discharge. Is there? Anyone have a similar case?

Hi jcc180, welcome!

I know we have several members who are or have been in the military. I'm hoping they chime in here with some advice about your options. There's a lot of good info here: http://www.epilepsyfoundation.org/answerplace/Social/military/ Check out especially the paragraph about "Retention".

How long have you been having seizures? Are they controlled by the Lamictal?

Best,
Nakamova