neurofeedback

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

memike

New
Reaction score
Hello,

I've been being treated with neurofeedback for about 2 months now, and the Dr. who is administering it is talking about possibly ending the treatment or at least taking a break to see if it is doing anything. I'm not sure exactly how this works so for any who are familiar with my story you can skip the next paragraph.

I am not someone who has dealt with epilepsy my whole life. I think the first time I had a seizure was when I was 18 (1997) but I am not totally sure about that. If it was then I didn't have another one until 2006, when it was most likely because of a brain tumor I found out I had. My neurosurgeon was able to remove the vast majority of the tumor (90% or so). He wanted me to do chemotherapy but since it was an ologoastrocytoma and only 1 or 2 on the scale of seriousness I opted to hold off considering the success rate of chemo for brain tumors wasn't too grate. I was on Dilantin for at least a year (maybe 2) and getting a MRI at least every 6 months. After about 3 years (maybe more) I was off the Dilantin and all was considered to be well.