New to seizures, epilepsy, and this website

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

cpuerini

New
Reaction score
Hello, I'm completely new to all of this and very grateful to have somewhere, and someone, to talk to.

My name's Cait, I'm 24 and had my first seizure in October. I was very stressed, sick with some unknown virus (still don't know what it was, I was told samples were sent to the CDC), and just had a lot going on. I don't remember any of this (or many things from recent years), but I was told I came down to the kitchen in the morning, where my grandparents told me I said I didn't feel good, then fell to the floor and began convulsing. I was rushed to the hospital, where I continued to seize, in and out of status, for days, I'm not exactly sure how many but my father told me I had probably somewhere around fifty seizures. They finally seemed to get my seizures under control, and I returned home after three and a half weeks.

As I said, this was in October, and the summer I have completely forgotten- along with a lot of memories from recent years. Luckily I take lots of pictures wherever I go, and I blog and keep journals. I'm also very lucky that I haven't forgotten my boyfriend of two years, who incredibly was by my side through every moment of this, and still is. I have temporal lobe epilepsy, so I assume with that the memory loss is fairly common.