New to this site

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

rLucy

New
Reaction score
HI--I'm new to this site and it looks so inviting. We have 2 children (now adults) out of the family of 7 who are seizure-affected. (Since we adopted several kids, the two are not biologically related.) I have had no experience prior, but these two were totally different and their experiences make up the sum total of my small "knowledge" bank to share. :) First, our biological daughter began having complex partial seizures at age 27, and we went thru all the testing, etc., but found out that if she avoids gluten entirely, she has no seizures. We already knew gluten gave her headaches/sinus problems, so it came rather naturally to discover it, though it seems strange to the doctors we've seen. Next, our younger daughter had petit mal so much growing up, and the regular meds did not help at all. Then we heard about Manganese, and that some people are benefited by it. We talked to the pediatrician, gave it to her, she takes it to this day, and the tests show her as seizure free after years of seizing so much of the day that she could not learn in school, etc. She always just seemed sweet, smiley, and spacey! We thought she was just a daydreamer. But when we gave her the manganese (she didn't know what to suspect, as we give the kids vitamins, etc, anyway) she came to me and said, "Mommy, I feel so good today! I can think!" and w