Uncontrollable seizures and employment

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Westy

New
Reaction score
Just needing some ideas for possible employment options. i have uncontrollable seizures, aged 45yrs and have a physical disability that prevents me from standing or walking for any length of time. and because of seizures i am no longer allowed to drive.

I have a diploma in Community Welfare work and many years of experience in Administration, despite all this i still can't get even a part time job. the feedback i get from interviews - 'you are overqualified' or 'you answered all requirements and presented really well but we decided to go with someone else'.

Just in case you are wondering, no i don't tell them i have epilepsy when i go for interview!

Any ideas of work i could do?

Cheers
Westy

Have you

tried starting some sort of work-from-home business? Something that you can do, that you would like, and that is manageable for you?

Some people do freelance writing, some people do landscaping, some make candles and soap........you get the idea. Even being a virtual administrative assistant is a possibility.

Just some thoughts........

Hi, Westy,

The "overqualified" label annoys me to no end. It is really age discrimination. They should be hiring the most qualified person for the job.