I teach English to university students in China: Ask Me Anything

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

GoGiants

New
Reaction score
Before that, I taught English in South Korea for one year. So far, I've been teaching in China for 2 years. I was teaching uni students in Wuhan for 1 1/2 years. I moved to Fuzhou in September and am still teaching university students.

I am a 27 year old American man who is traveling now rather than waiting until I'm old and gray. That is if I get there...my father's hair didn't turn gray lol

Welcome to CWE. :) Wow, teaching in China sounds neat! I would love to travel the world. What is the culture like? What is the new year celebration like? What is your favorite Chinese dish? C'mon, tell us, tell us.

Heh Chelsea don't think I've been here much longer than you :)

What is the culture like?

Different. Very, very different. If you ask some more detailed questions about it I can tell you more.

What is the new year celebration like?

Lots of fireworks. I mean people shoot off fireworks like crazy as it is. Birthdays, weddings, doctor's appointments...people will find any reason to shoot them off but Lunar New Year is crazy with fireworks.

What is your favorite Chinese dish?

I have had a lot of different foods in China. Like America, every part of it has its own cuisine along with the staple foods.