Food Intolerance, Viruses and Epilepsy

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

DogtorJ

G.A.R.D. Diet Guru
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I hope that you have had a chance to read my introductory post. If not, it is here:
http://www.coping-with-epilepsy.com/forums/f20/hi-everyone-i-hope-i-can-some-help-1314/

It gives you a bit of an overview of what I have been working on for the past 7 years: The relationship between diet and epilepsy. But of course, if we are going to call something a "cause", then we had better be prepared to explain why it doesn't cause the same result in all individuals. For example, if we say "Gluten causes seizures", then we have to explain why not all who consume gluten have seizures? Very good question, which (rightfully) forces us to go to a deeper level for the true...and distinguishing...cause.

It has been an interesting mission to try to help distinguish between causes and triggers. (This started out as a mission for epileptic pets but has turned into a quest for answers to human problems as a rising number of people started employing the elimination diet.) But all we really have to do is keep the above premise in mind.