5day EEG help

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Sheripark

New
Reaction score
Hello All!

I'm scheduled for a 5day EEG in patient in June. I'm nervous. As many of you know this is a huge schedule planner (having four school aged children). I have never done this before. What can I expect besides the obvious bordome I assume? Can I bring an iPad, iPod, or other forms of entertainment? Is it so structured they control the environment? Also, they said I need another person there at night to sleep there in another bed next to mine???? What..?. Is this what you have experienced? My husband has never and would never wake up if I had a seizure. Just makes it all the more challenging to get care for our children. Any tips and advice would be so much appreciated. Also, do I get to shower?

Thx! Sheri

Well, I don't

know if I can be of much help, but....

In my past experience, my 5 day EEGs (which have not been in-patient), you have NOT been allowed to shower...but you can wash up, carefully, using a washrag, etc.

I have been allowed to use my laptop and cell phone amongst other electronic things while having my 5 day EEGs done.

On the other hand, when I have had the long-term EEGs done, I have had to go into the doctor's office for about 8 hours to do an in-house video EEG. But no one sat with me, slept with me, or anything.