Epilepsy and Work

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

1: BEFORE epilepsy I was an on-site architect, but as I was newly qualified when diagnosed, and in UK you aren't EVER allowed on a building site if you have had a seizure after the age of 5, I wasn't allowed to continue and my company let me go as I couldn't fulfill my terms of employment any longer. AFTER epilepsy I worked in shops for about 4 yrs, until my seizures worsened and my doctor signed me off work 2 1/2 yrs ago.

2: to keep myself occupied, I read a lot, I look after my 3 kids, I see a lot of friends, I volunteer to listen to the children read at my local primary school, I come on here, I cross stitch, I handmake greetings cards, I play Mah Jongg a lot as well.....

3: I do believe that keeping myself busy does help, and I really miss working, but I have seizures without warnings and I personally wouldn't employ myself as there would be times that other members of the team I would be working in would have to cover for me if I've had a seizure, so I can understand why I can't work right now, but it still frustrates me sometimes.

Loudmouth: