How does stress affect your seizure activity?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

That scares the hell out of me! I'm a therapist and I'm terrified of having a seizure during a session with someone. I would never recover from that guilt especially if it was a child. My anxiety about this comes in waves. Ahhhhhhhhh!!!
I can understand you being frightened mainly with children but those who employ you being a therapist must know about your seizures to let you do it plus anxiety can bring stress then seizures...so try and take things more mentally steady, I know it's hard saying and typing it but i'm just trying to help.

Yeah. Thanks for the encouragement. I'm trying to keep my rational brain processes working on this issue. I have a private practice so there's no employer involved. I have consulted with a few trusted colleagues and my office staff has been instructed in first aid. I'm taking my meds and hoping I'm doing all I can. I can't predict these things I guess... but I do find it interesting that both tcs happened during a Thursday night which is the end of my work week and typically when I'm most mentally and physically exhausted.