I just need someone to understand

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

ktrer

New
Reaction score
Hi,
I am relatively new to seizures. I had my first one at 23 years of age last March, while driving home from work. They did all of the testing (twice because I went for a second opinion) and everything looked okay, so they took me off of the Keppra. In July I had another one. I am now on Keppra every day and I am waiting for the anxiety and stress to go away. I was told that the longer I go without having a seizure, the easier it will get. But, because I don't have any kind of aura or anything, I'm afraid everything means I'm going to have a seizure. By everything, i mean I drink too much caffeine and feel like I'll have one, one glass of wine and I feel like I'll have one. My poor boyfriend hears "am I going to have a seizure" or "I think I'm going to have a seizure" literally every day. I am so full of anxiety and stress and just sadness because it has changed my life for the worse and I can't seem to calm myself down, and stress is a trigger for seizures, so that only makes it worse.

Someone, please, does it get easier?

Welcome to the forums!