Questions for Dilantin users

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Wolf82

New
Reaction score
Is any one here taking Dilantin like I am I've been takeing it for the past 3 years now and just wondering if I'm the only one.

Hi Wolf82, welcome to the forum. :hello:

My wife is currently taking 400mg Dilantin. I think Ranman may also still be taking Dilantin. I'm sure there are others here on it too.

:hello: Wolf!

Glad to have you here at CWE! I've
been a very long time Dilantin user
unfortunately after so many years
of being on it had to be taken off of
it because it wrecked a havoc on my
teeth and gums ... however, you also
posted on another thread ...

In lieu - I had responded:

=========================

WOLF - If YOU are experiencing
any SIDE EFFECTS from DILANTIN:

1) You should consult your Doctor
2) You should have your blood (lab)
work-up done to have your level
checked to make sure you are in
the therapeutic range.
3) You should consult your Doctor
about what you are experiencing:
You may need to have the meds
adjusted or be put on something
else ~ You might be experiencing
AURA(S)!

See CWE's POLL:

Experience AURA or AURAS?

I had taken Dilantin since I was 10 and on it for 30 years (age 55 now) M.D. detemined since I was diagnosed with osteoporosis at 44..Dilantin was a major culprit and pulled me off.

35 years