What to tell friends and family?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

freddfish

New
Reaction score
Hey, ya'll,
A newbie here...I browsed the forum looking for an answer to this, ather than starting a discussion thread right out of the gate, but met with no success. So WTH, here we go.

I have had a couple of seizures in the past 3 years, and I would like to know the best way to tell my friends and extended family about my apparent epilepsy in a way that won't seem awkward or weird, or make them patronize, pity, or feel uncomfortable around me.

Tall order, huh? :)

I also would like to know what your thoughts were on what an attending helpful person should do immediately following a seizure....go through the 20 questions (name address birthdate location phone# cat's name etc) to assess the need for medical care? Run get help?

What should I tell folks to do if I am around them when it all goes down?

Thanks in advance for any help on this. Ya'll have a good one.

freddfish

Hi fredfish and welcome to the party!!