Gluten Free diet = No seizures!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

I am new to this seizure thing, and still learning what is causing mine. I have been trying to learn as much about things as possible. My mom is big into the Gluten stuff, having our whole family tested for sensitivities to gluten. I am staying off it for the most part, but haven't really noticed much of a difference. I have a question regarding how the neurologists take this.. Mine doesn't seem concerned with gluten playing a part in seizures at all. Have you ran this by your regular team of Dr's, and if so, what do they say? I am noticing that most of the neurologists just want to shove pills down us and not explore what the CAUSE of the seizures are. Anyone else experiencing that when discussing the gluten issue?

Robertav,

I so relate to what you are saying. I had fibromyalgia and IBS, with abdominal cramps that made me double over. It all dissapeared when I went vegan. Eliminating animal products from my diet cured it. I chock it up to elimination of the inflammation that meat causes in the gut. When someone slips me meat without my knowledge I get really sick again.

Everyone is different. Vegetarianism isn't the right choice for everybody. So the right choice for some.