How to keep a positive attitude

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

janet11

New
Reaction score
Hi my name is Janet. I am new to the epilepsy thing. How do you maintain a positive attitude when dealing with all the new information and accepting the diagnosis? Thanks

I think it is all about a positive lifestyle. I know, I know. It is silly to respond with something that doesn't even sound like an answer.
I work hard and I work a lot, but when I go home, I leave everything behind. The stress stays. I take time to relax and try to meditate when I can. Get enough sleep and take time to have fun. Try to live as normal of a life as you can.
The main this is to just remember that you will never give up and life will go on. Be positive, and think positive. Don't let anyone else get to that. Don't let people piss you off. Brush it off, smile and keep living a positive life.

Hi Janet, welcome to CWE.

First of all, you just need to accept it for what it is and the good part is you are not dead.

Accept it as a challenge, as a hurdle or even a dead weight you lug around with you. Good thing though is life is not over yet.

Second learn all you can about the problem at hand and deal with it the best you and your loves can. No need to deal with it alone, get support.