When you first told someone you had epilepsy, what did they do?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

I have had to remind several first responders I am probably in better shape than they are.

I am fairly new to all of this. I have been having these for 4 years. My family has seen it, but the doctors,I would not listen to me when I tried to tell them something was happening-I was going away. Everyone who is close to me, seemed rather relieved to at least know what the problem was. I was just glad to know that I was not losing my mind! I am ashamed to say that I like most, thought of a seizure as what is or was called a grand mal, and guess I never paid much attention to the fact that law enforcement did not know how to handle this situation. I got a crash course on the day I drove with no memory.

My seizures started out as absence seizures so to be honest I just ignored them. My family were the people who forced me to go to the doctor. I've just recently had to start telling people because they're getting worse and I'm falling out at work etc.

My son's seizures started out as partials or maybe more along the lines of TCs, he passed out, convulsed a little, following a long absence seizure--so the reaction to his was much stronger. We had to call an ambulance for his first seizure.

Sometimes people who don't have epilepsy among friends or family just don't understand