12 year old son having left temporal lobectomy in 3 weeks need feed back please!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

MARNOLD

New
Reaction score
Im a newbie here. My 12 year old son is having left temporal lobectomy done in about 3 weeks. If there is anyone who has had a child his age have this surgery done i would love to hear the feedbacks. he is wanting this done but im hoping im making the right choice for him. he has failed over 12 drugs and is on a max dose of the ones he takes now. thanks so much for those who take the time out to read this and reply.

Welcome to the site.

I've never had any brain operations (I refuse to) but I'd be curious to know if you've tried anything besides medications to control your sons seizures. The one I'd like to try is biofeedback http://www.coping-with-epilepsy.com/index.php?p=eeg-neurofeedback but there are many other things like a vegas nerve stimulator http://www.coping-with-epilepsy.com/index.php?p=vns-vagus-nervethat I feel you should look into as well before doing something so permanent http://www.coping-with-epilepsy.com/index.php?p=alternative-treatments.

Another thing to look into is diet. There is one member here who was able to stop her daughters seizures by maintaining a proper blood sugar level.

Last edited: