Hi I'm a newbie, question about Lamictal rash

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Krissymom

New
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a Newbie.

Hi to everyone. I don't have much time rite now so I will make this brief and talk more later.

My son is 6 now and in 1st grade. He was DX with Complex-Partial Seizures in Pre-k 4.
He has been on Trileptial since the DX, this medication has been upped from the very beginning, b/c after about 4 months the dose just did not seem to work any more.

Now his new Neuro has put him on Limictal, 5mg (2 x a day) for 2 weeks then 10mg (2 x a day). So now he is only on day 10 and has a rash. It looks like little bumps all over his body (NOT ON THE NECK, FACE OR SCALP)
They kinda looks like heat bumps, not red or blotchy. He HAS had these bumps before b/c of dry skin. I'm going to call his Neuro 1st thing in the morning.
He is also on Clanazapam .25mg (only at night)

Here is a breakdown of all his current DX:
Epilepsy....Complex Partial Seizures
ADHD
ODD (Oppositional Defiant Disorder)
OCD
Night Terrors since the age of 2, use to be severe, now they aree only a few times a week, they look like seizures now.
Lyme Disease ( I passed this on to him in-utero. and my son have both tested CDC positive from IdGeneX.
He is on an extensive treatment plan for the Lyme.

So my real question's are:
1. Could he have a rash from the Limictal in just 10 days?