5 year old daughter just diagnosed with petit mal seizures

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
This is all so overwhelming to me. I self diagnosed my 5 year old daughter. Thankfully I'm a teacher and spent extra time with her this summer. It came on so quickly. It started as a couple times a day seeing her stare off and cross her eyes. She would not respond to my voice. She was also suddenly having accidents. Her doctor thought she was doing it for attention. Within 1 month she was having around 15 or 20 episodes a day that I was able to see.

A pediatric neurologist diagnosed her with petit mal seizures. She had 2 during her EEG. I was so relived that someone finally saw what I saw. My husband had never even noticed 1. My friends said she was rolling her eyes at me or just spacing out. I just knew something was wrong!

So... She has been taking zantharin for about 4 weeks. Her siezures have stopped! But....She is hyperactive and aggressive. She said she has a "dark side" now. She hits herself if she gets in trouble for doing something wrong. She just seems angry. I also have a 2 1/2 year old daughter. she is not angry all the time. But when she is it's really bad. She never used to be this way. I don't know if we should deal with this medicine since the alternatives seem worse.