Another Newbie Hi everyone

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi everyone:

Wanted to say I am excited to have a resource like this and to be on this forum!

I have been coping with e for about 32 years (diagnosed when I was 8). It seems my seizures concentrate themselves in the left temporal lobe (though I have some scaring on the rt temp lobe too) I've had ups and downs over that time with the seizures and battling the meds (i hate them and the way they make me feel). I am on 2000 mg of kepra (i was on neurontin previously, depakote, dilantin and phenobarbital before that) and it is is driving me nuts. I found that if I don't keep to an exact schedule on dosage and sleep patterns I am a wreck. My emotions are unstable, i cant focus and almost seem in a haze and apathetic(or worse). But when it works it seems to stabilize me better and I can focus a lot better; better than anything else i have taken and with 4 kids and my own business to run it's pretty hard to not keep pushing through to the next day.

I am committed to making this work but Kepra has been a roller coster for me. The first 3 months on the drug I thought I was losing my mind, now things seem a bit better but god forbid if I accidently alter my dosage routine.

Is anyone else on Kepra? If so, do you have any advice?

thanks!

Welcome Tripletdad

Good to have you join the party. :banana: