check this out. aura or anxiety?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

thank you so much guys... i will continue to chat, i like this.
i had never heard the word kindle... :ponder: sometimes the people
on here are better then docs when it comes time to talk. i know they
don't have that kind of time. so i'm new to this, you can send private messages also? meaning to a specific person i guess rather then anyone who wants to read. how is this done?

Hi Shawnalb --

Sorry to be so confusing about estrogen. It's the fluctuations in hormones (including estrogen) and the balance between different hormones that can affect seizure threshold. In menopause, the overall levels of estrogen drop, so for some women this means their seizures go away or become less frequent. It's not an exact science however (to say the least!). For some, their are other factors affecting seizure threshold as well, so menopause doesn't necessarily bring relief.