Hello, I'm a newbie to the forum world

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Iris82

New
Reaction score
It was suggested that I post to the foyer first. I really don't know how to go about this, so I just cut and pasted what I wrote in my user details thingy when I registered. I hope that's ok (?)

When I was first noticed my epilepsy, I was having - what I have since discovered to be - atonic seziures. This was in 1990. I'd be in front of the old Apple IIe monitor at school and collapse in or, slide off my chair. A few of these happened before I told my parents. By the time the doctors had diagnosed me with epilepsy - a month or so later -they had become tonic clonic, or what I knew then as mal grand siezures. I've had quite a few over the years but since being stabily medicated (Tegretol - Carbamanzepine 500mg/d) I am somehow no longer photosentsitve -strobe style lights do annoy me though - and I've been able to drive since 2000. I am now 29. I have joined this forum as I have been becoming quite concerned over the last 5 or 6 years, about the effects my medication may be having on me, physically and psychologically. I look forward to sharing our experiences and thoughts.
- Lady from Melbourne, Australia.:e:

Welcome to the site,im sure any questions you may have someone will pop up with,advice,been or going through a similar situation.
Once again welcome,

Hello, and welcome!