Hello, newbie here.

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hi all!

My name is Jess. I guess technically I was never really diagnosed with epilepsy but in Early 2009 I had my first recognized seizure. Come to find out I had a huge tumor in my melon. I was told it was the size of a lemon, I had a lemon in my melon. Haha :)
Anywho, I had surgery in June of 09 to have it removed, part of it was. The remainder of it was taken care of via chemotherapy and radiation. Unfortunately the damage done by the surgery and radiation has caused me to be considered epileptic. So I guess all in all I have Epilepsy via brain tumor? lol
I have minipaul seizure on the left side of my body if I forget to take my meds. They aren't bad and I very rarely forget to take my keppra but nevertheless, it still sucks.

Hi riverchick247, welcome to CWE!

I'm sorry to hear about your tumor, and the side effects from it and the surgery. The brain is both amazingly vulnerable and amazingly resilient.

I hope you feel free to explore the forums here. It's a great place, and the members are terrific.

Best,
Nakamova

Hi Jess!

Welcome to CWE! Im sorry to hear about the tumor. Im on Keppra XR, and its been working great for me. If there are any questions you have, feel free to ask! :)

Hi Riverchick,

Welcome to CWE, sorry to hear about the tumor & the problems you had with your surgery.