Hi - new here and scared to death

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
So hi... my name is Lisa. Im new to this whole thing as far as going through it myself. I'm still rather confused, lost, and trying to cope with this whole thing. Needless to say this whole thing was a whammy right below the belt and out of the blue. I was recently told that I'm having complex partial seizures and I'm currently "serving" my mandatory 6 month license suspension that this lovely state imposes on all new diagnosis of epilepsy. In my case its understandable, my first complex partial was while driving from my externship site to school for a seminar. Yes I drove through it. I had two EEGs from the date of my accident until I got to see my neuro again for a follow up about my migraines which also took a major shift in about may. I didn't realize when I had called his office freaking out because I blacked out and wrecked my car that this was the path that I was leading up to. I was also recently diagnosed with SVT (supraventricular tachycardia) for those of you who don't know all that is is an abnormally fast (150+ beats per minute) regular heart rate. There is apparently no tie between the "short circuit" in my heart and in my head. Not for a lack of trying on my part. I grilled my poor PCP since I saw him shortly after seeing my neuro that morning.