Hi there, I am a newbie

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
I was in a car accident 13 years ago. I have seizures often, partials, complex partials, drop seizures and sometimes grand mals. I tend to fall often. What upsets me the most are the seizures where I can hear people, but I cannot move or talk and I so want to scream, "I am here," but I cannot until the seizure passes. I am frustrated by the lack of medical personnel, especially the ER doctors who do not take the time to understand seizures. I just wish more people would understand you. I have unfortunately lost friends to my seizures because I have scared them. I take 4 meds to control my seizures. I think one of the hardest parts for me is being so dependent on other people.

Hi ghb, welcome to the forum. :hello:

There are a lot of people working to help spread epilepsy awareness. It's not an easy task. Most people don't care unless they someone they love has it.

Sorry you lost some friends over it. I lost friends when I was younger simply because I chose to eat a vegetarian diet (and I wasn't one of those militant animal rights types either). Some people just aren't very mature. It says more about them than it does you.

Make yourself at home here. :)

Hi there - welcome to CWE
Glad that you decided to join us.