Just diagnosed with seizure disorder..pregnant and have questions

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

deikkena

New
Reaction score
Hi everyone. I'm very new to all of this, so please bear with me if I don't know all the lingo and such.

My name is Nicole, I'm 27 years old and currently 29 weeks pregnant with my second child. I was diagnosed just this past Tuesday (10/30/07) as having a seizure disorder. I have partial seizures and have been having them for a good 6 or 7 years, but had never been diagnosed because I didn't realize that's what was happening to me (and therefore never saw a doctor about them).

My neurologist wants me to start taking Lamictal, and because this is all so new to me, and I only know one person who deals with anything similar (except her condition is much more severe), I'm very scared and reluctant to take this medication. I very much wish to breastfeed as it's something very important to me, but I've found little data that shows that taking this medication during pregnancy and breastfeeding is okay.