Need help finding right doctors

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Please help me I am new to the epilesy world. My daughter who is 6 has been diagnosed with complex partial seizures due to End folium hippocampal sclerosis in her right tempral lobe. This was diagnosed by a general neurologist and radiologist after an MRI done in Charlotte North Carolina. I think I need to take her to a Comprehensive Epilesy Center at a major medical center. Does anyone out there have any recommedations on where to go for pediatric epilesy? Has anyone been to or currently associated with Duke Medical Center and pediatric Neurology??? any advice???/

I wasn't diagnosed with epilepsy as a child, but I do have hippocampul sclerosis on the left side, so I do suggest you go to a pediatric neurologist at a Comprehensive Epilepsy Center. I see an epileptologist here in Denver at Univ. of CO Health Science. I'm not in your part of the U.S. but I do hear there is good care at Duke.

Unfortunately, I am one of those who have tried many meds and did have a left temporal lobectomy that didn't help with my seizures. I couldn't have a 2nd surgery because of the location of the damaged area. I went on to have the VNS, which did help somewhat.

Phyllis posted a link to a list of epi docs recommended by people with epilepsy. See this string: