Newbie Here!

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Haley

New
Reaction score
Hey guys, I'm Haley.I'm new to CWE, but not to the condition itself.
Anyways, I'd really love to speak with you all and get to know some of your stories. They always inspire me :)
Side note: Okay, so I've been tonic-clonic seizure free for two years now. What's the likelyhood of them coming back? Just curious...and kind of concerned.
Thanks! :e:

Hi Haley,
Welcome to CWE, you'll meet some really nice people here & get some great feedback & support.

I consider epilepsy a really unpredictable medical condition because we don't always know how often we will have seizures or what kinds of seizures we will have.

I had my 1st seizure when I was 9 months old & had grandmals (now called Tonic Clonics) until I was approx 3 years old. I went 21 years seizure free until 2002 at the age of 24 I started having seizures again. After my seizures returned I was diagnosed with left front temporal lobe epilepsy which was caused from scarring on my left front temporal lobe (possibly from the seizures I had as a baby.)
After the seizures returned I mainly took auras (simple partials) & complex partial seizures. My neurologist tried me on 5 different anti epilepsy meds, none of which would completely control my seizures so at the end of 2009 he suggested I look into having brain surgery & referred me to an epitiologist.