Newbie here.

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
My name is Penny and I've been having nocturnal seizures for almost 4 years. I personally believe they were started from taking the flu shot. My family doctor and the two neurologists I saw won't admit that is what the cause is. I refuse to take anticonvulsant medication because I don't believe they work and I don't want to take a pill twice a day if they don't work to prevent seizures that only occur every couple of months. Also I don't want to risk damaging my liver.There is also a risk of increased chronic fatigue. I'm currently trying tryptophan and Vitamin D3. and increased daily protein. I personally think I'm wasting my time with those too. Simply there are more cons than pros to taking medications. So far every doctor I've seen has been a complete waste of my time. They are all a big joke!

Welcome to CWE. The vast majority of neurologists who specialize in seizures and seizure control are very compassionate. You may want to make an appointment with a regional epilepsy center which most often are located at a teaching universities.

Last edited:
Hey Penny, welcome to CWE.