Coping With Epilepsy Medikidz Comic Book Explains Epilepsy
Sponsored Advertisement

Go Back   Epilepsy Forum > Our House > The Foyer

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-18-2018, 10:00 AM
New Here

Red face Newbie here...(focal onset epilepsy) looking to chat

Hi everyone!

I was diagnosed with focal onset epilepsy about 3-4 months ago after a year of being told I had panic attacks/anxiety disorders...so a little bit of a relief strangely enough.

I have simple partial seizures which involve an epigastric rise (I believe thats what they are called), burning or smoke smell, over whelming feeling of fear, vision goes a little distorted and my fingers feel like they have pins and needles. I have only every had the burning smell once, it was for about 1 second and the rising followed immediately. The rest have just included the other symptoms.

I have been put on Lamictal, currently on 75mg per day, wanting me to be on 100mg which I will be increasing to next week.

Just wondering if there is anyone else out there with similar experiences? I have only ever had these however there is always that thing in the back of my mind that they may get worse and generalise, but unsure with me being medicated now.

I havnt had a proper one for some time now but I do get occasions where I come across very hot and anxious for now reason, really uncomfortable but they never progress to a full partial seizure as I call them.

Im hoping getting to my therapeutic dose will sort that out.

Anyways...just a brief info if anyone wants to chat
Old 07-18-2018, 01:43 PM
Super Moderator / Thank You Queen

Thanked 7,290 Times in 5,376 Posts
Hey sibbp84, welcome to CWE!

I get generalized seizures (no partials), so my experience is different. But we have plenty of members who have a history with partia a nd can share notes.