newbie here overmedicated i think

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

There's many different things which could point to being over-medicated but unfortunately they can be very similar to side effects of medication or even effects of seizures.

Have you been on your meds a long time? Which meds and dosages are you on?

Edit - i see from your profile that you've just switched to Keppra. If it was quite recently you could still be getting used to side effects, but perhaps a talk with your neurologist would help.

Hi Cheryl,

Welcome to CWE. As Lou said sometimes it can sometimes take a little while to get used to the medication changes but if you have any concerns speaking to your neurologist might be a good idea.

In your profile you say you are on Dilantin & now on Keppra. Is the Keppra replacing the Dilantin or is it an add on med?
Whenever I've had a med change I've always allowed at less the 1st 2 weeks to expect any side effects from the med change.

Hi cheryl, welcome!

Your medications should have come with a printout listing side effects. If your side effects are in the "serious" category, call your neurologist ASAP to let him know. If you're not sure, go ahead and call your neurologist anyway.

Best,
Nakamova