Recently diagnosed and need help and advice

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

bradda

New
Reaction score
I'm new to all this. I look after an elderly man who was diagnosed with partial epilepsy in August. He was put on Epilim but it has made his blood sodium levels go right down to 120. He is weak and lethargic and when he gets dehydrated he has a fit. The neurologist saw him 3 days ago and is changing him over to Keppra but it will take about 2 months and right now he has had to intoduce the Keppra am on top of the Epilim. He is so drugged he is sleeping all the time and is unsteady on his legs whcih are already a bit feeble. Do things improve the longer you are on the tablet because right now he is so drugged and miserable he can't do a thing.

Hi bradda! Welcome to CWE. It's not unusual for people to get really lethargic due to meds. In fact, it's probably a combo of the Keppra and Epilim that's making him so tired. In the meantime, I'd suggest making sure that he drinks a sport drink like Gatorade...something to help keep his electrolytes in balance. Also, report the severe lethargy to his doctor. If nothing else, he'll tell you to keep monitoring it. Eventually, as the epilim is cut back the symptoms will hopefully diminish.