Worried Mother

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Status
Not open for further replies.

hrp57

New
Reaction score
Hi
I am new to the world of epilepsy and rather confused by it. We live in the UK.

My son aged 12 was diagnosed last year with childhood absence epilepsy and given Ethosuximide to deal with it. Marvellous results until Christmas when he had a full-blown seizure for the first time generating enormous panic and anxiety.

He was prescribed Epilim and was weaned of the Ethosuximide over the holiday period. Over the last 2-3 weeks he has been suffering from insomnia -taking over 2 hours to get to sleep. Result - exhaustion.

I wonder if insomnia is a recurrent problem when taking epilepsy medication?

Grateful for any input.

Welcome hrp57

I don't have any kids with E and I haven't taken this particular drug but I did find you some information

You can find a list of side effects here It's a PDF so you'll need Adobe to read it.

Although insomina isn't listed as a possible side effect, it still can be one, and you should call the doctor and let him know ASAP.

Lack of sleep can be a trigger for more seizure activity so it's very important, your son get his needed rest.

I was taking that drug for 10 years, but I do not remember problems with sleep, the common problem with many drugs is to feel sleepy, like I am now:roll:

Welcome HRP -