Just checking in

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

resaebiunne

Stalwart
Reaction score
Wow, it's been 3 and a half months since I last visited the forums... I've been so busy with work that I just haven't had time to read the forums.

Well, I lost my job here in Auburn due to budget cuts (I'm a contractor and an engineer, and engineers are very expensive ;) ). So I've been busy finding jobs. But unfortunately after I lost my job I woke up one night in a near status epilepticus state which was triggered by some alcoholic drinks I had at the bar earlier that evening. I believe I woke up after a tonic clonic seizure, because I was confused and couldn't get back to sleep, and I decided to go to the ER. I took an uber to the ER and got dropped off at the hospital entrace and couldn't find the emergency room entrance, which is off the visitors parking lot, so I wound up wandering around in the cold for 20 minutes before I figured out where the entrance was and my seizures stopped, but I went in the ER anyway because I was concerned I might black out. So the rather critical ER doctor lectured me about driving (Yes, I can drive, my last neurologist cleared me to drive and I have legally obtained a Florida state drivers license!) and asked who my doctor was. I have a doctor here in Auburn, NY who I saw and who was fine with my meds and everything (I moved to Auburn last October). So, they took blood. The nurs