Art Therapy

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

RobinN

Super Mom
Reaction score
A Pleasant Grove girl has won a national competition aimed at encouraging people with epilepsy to express themselves through art.
http://www.sltrib.com/ci_7439436?source=rss
(they messed up the article but you get the gist of it within the first few paragraphs.

Being an artist I want to suggest that art can be very good therapy. I think it slows you down and makes you appreciate what is around you. We tend to move through life in a crazy frenzy sometimes and to be able to focus on what is important in life is very important.

I personally have been creative my whole life, but I never viewed it as a method of healing for myself until the past year or so. I knew there were art therapists, but I was in the design world and had little time for that.

After meeting a wonderful man, Danny Gregory, I realized how my art could make every day matter.
This man has an incredible story, I will link you to.
Living in NY with his wife, she was standing on a train platform, and a crazy person pushed her onto the tracks. She lived to tell the story, but is paralyzed. He has made his life matter by writing two books and has created a phenomena in the world by seeing people follow his example of drawing every day, everyday items, and not being hung up by every day constraints.
Check it out... it is inspiring. At least it is for me.