Cannabis trigger??

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

finalpoet

Stalwart
Reaction score
A few days ago I had a grand mal that lasted about 10 minutes. When we got to the hospital and I had a few more short grand mals. The question I pose is, is THC in cannabis a possible trigger? Because it's a possible coincidence, because I've been eating an edible nearly every night and I've been sleeping like a baby for 1-2 months. It's the only change I've made and I'm wondering if that could be a trigger?

Everyone is different of course, but generally speaking, folks use high CBD/low THC marijuana for seizures. Low-THC varieties are considered safer and more effective.

Aside from that, like any other drug, CBD can idiosyncratic side effects. Though there is limited testing out there, one study (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/26724101) reported that the most common serious possible side effect was status epilepticus, when a person has long or repeated seizures

That could be what has happened for you, or there could be something else going on. Unlike regulated meds, edibles aren't necessarily tested/regulated for consistency or contamination. And CBD can also interfere with some anti-seizure meds.