Drinking And Then In The ER, Do They Give You?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

JLogefeil

New
Reaction score
If you were drinking and you needed up in the ER, would they still give you AED like Ativan or dilatin though your IV? If not what do they do for you?

I have no personal experience on this. but I really think it would be a daft idea to mix sedatives with alcohol and I don't think it's something the hospital would risk.

I would think they wouldn't give you something like Ativan... From what I have read on Keppra, it is less dangerous to take with alcohol, and it's fast acting, so they might give someone that? I researched into Keppra and actually didn't really see anything about the interaction.

Dilantin doesn't mix well with alcohol, so I doubt that would be given. It also causes drowsiness, and the prescription bottle warns against drinking because of the amplification of side effects.

I would think they wouldn't give you something like Ativan... From what I have read on Keppra, it is less dangerous to take with alcohol, and it's fast acting, so they might give someone that? I researched into Keppra and actually didn't really see anything about the interaction.

:ponder: Well, here is what I found about Keppra and alcohol:

http://www.drugs.com/keppra.html

What should I avoid while taking Keppra?