Epilepsy Rx pen poll

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Ann T.

New
Reaction score
Hello, CWE members & Guests:

I've been bouncing this idea in my soba noodle brain for about 2 yrs & would like your opinion. I was wondering how many at this site would be interested in an epilepsy medication pen similar to the diabetes insulin pen manufactured & advertised by Novartis, called the Novalog insulin pen. For those of you whom do not know what I'm describing, it is a small pen complete with a small needle, that has medicine in injectable liquid form. You twist a dial at the base of the pen to the amount you need to take & inject/poke yourself.

Of course, it may not be suitable for people who do not like needles, and for someone like me, I'm on a multiple AED regimen, which would mean more pens to carry. However, since I work at a school with students, I have to take medicine in pill form & that visibly startles students. I would much rather "poke-n-go" than do what I currently do, which is: open a pill bottle & pour all my pills out in my hand to find the medicine I need to take.