I have a black eye?! Help?

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
I had a seizure Sunday night and got a black eye, among other injuries. This is the first time I've injured myself during a grand mal seizure, and unfortunately it happened at work. I work in a warehouse with grated floors that are slightly spiked to prevent workers from slipping. So that's also unfortunate.

I felt a seizure coming on but I didn't think it would turn into a TC; it seemed to be going away, so I didn't sit down like I usually do. The result was that I literally fell flat on my face from a standing position onto the grated floor.

My face was cut up and bleeding. I even had to go to urgent care and get stitches inside my mouth. The pain didn't end up being too bad in my mouth and the stitches are dissolvable but it still sucks.

im literally terrified of going into work tomorrow with a black eye. I know it sounds vain but that was almost the worst part. I literally look awful.
so I was wondering if any of you guys have ever dealt with injuries like this and what did you do? Is there any way to make it less noticeable? Would you wear an eye patch? Makeup? Or just wear it loud and proud? Also a few people know but not everyone. Do you guys think I should just tell EVERYONE? Or just people who ask? Or make up some story for people I don't know very well?

Any advice would be appreciated.