LED lighting and Epilepsy

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

essiyote

New
Reaction score
I don't have epilepsy. I'm a lighting engineer and am interested in the effect of LED lighting on people who have epilepsy. I had not heard this was a problem until I spoke to a man yesterday whose wife is dramatically effected by both LED lighting and modern fluorescent lighting. I would like to ask others on this site if they have ever experienced similar symptoms.

There is a great push by the Department of Energy and the lighting industry to adopt LED lighting. LEDs are by nature monochromatic light. A polychromatic "white" light is created, generally, by shining a blue LED through a phosphor impregnated epoxy cap that's formed over the diode. It has already been shown that the particular wavelength produced by blue LEDs (460-480nm) can have an effect on the circadian system and the regulation of melatonin production by the pituitary gland. I was curious to know if people with epilepsy experience a negative effect from this type of lighting.