Teacher

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

finalpoet

Stalwart
Reaction score
Someone said they were a teacher? Who?

I'm considering the field of practice and so I naturally have a few questions if possible.

Hi finalpoet,

I don't know if you were thinking about me but I work as a teacher aide in public school. Take my word public schools are in need of teachers very badly. Many teachers are retiring this yr. and more next yr.
If you do decide to become a teacher the pay as well as the benefits are good and you can retire at age 55 with no cuts in your state retirement as long as you have worked 30 yrs. or more. What has saved me is the health ins. since there's a lot of staff I only have to pay a group plan price which is great and meds are cheaper also.
I was open about my epilepsy from the beginning and told personnel all about I also put it on my job application that way they couldn't come after me or lay me off do to my seizures because they knew all about them when they hired me and that was back in 1985
Here's wishing you only the best of luck and May God Bless You!

Sue

I do believe it was you. I did want to ask you how broken is our public education system? I was thinking of becoming a teacher in time but I've never heard good things.

what state your in will make a big difference.