Temporary reading difficulties

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

juzzyk

New
Reaction score
Anybody have any experiences, maybe seizure related, causing them to have trouble reading words or see letters scrambled? I'm wondering if this is a variation of having difficulty understanding speech which happened to me once.

Lately I've had some strange experiences similar to being dyslexic. Today I was assessing a student (on this occasion I was assessing for dyslexia, ironically), and I showed her a list of words saying, here is a list of nonsense words (which is what they looked like to me). I have two pages and thought this was the page of made up words, which was what it looked like. As she was reading them, about 30 seconds into watching her read, it was like the words changed and I could decipher them. Very strange experience. It was only temporary which makes me wonder if it was a seizure.

There've been a couple of other instances where the words on road signs have looked like something else and when I've looked again I can read it properly. I'm not sure if this is part of a visual type hallucination. I have temporal lobe epilepsy.

What you're experiencing to me sounds pretty normal, actually. Then again, I am dyslexic. Do you have ADHD or any other learning difficulties? Is this maybe something you are just noticing? (I have a tendency to look at things from a skeptical angle by nature.)