Topamax

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Reaction score
Hey All,
Hoping someone has some info for me. Had a Dr. appt yesterday and he's decided to add Topamax. He's starting me with a childrens dose cuz I don't react well to most meds. He warned me that one of the side effects is having trouble "finding my words". I talk for a living and am gernerally talkive person. I'm scared! I know its lame, my bf says I'm borrowing trouble, but the last time I gave up my meds was because I felt like I was losing myself. I don't want to face that again. I read up on it last night but it was just information. I was hoping that some one here has some personal experiance.
I'm trying not to work myself up (stress=bad) but it feels like I'm back where I started. 1rst one drug then another and another, all of a sudden I don't know where the meds stop and I begin or vice versa.
:dontknow:

oh, i totally just wrote a post about that in teh library, about the meds maker Johnson and Johnson

I take Topomax, 200 mg a day, along with Keppra, and at times I have trouble finding words, but I used to be on a much higher dosage of Topomax and I would lose my train of thought mid-sentence or just couldn't remember what I was talking about. I'm doing much better now.