Vegetariansim, Soy, and Epilepsy

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Katie

New
Reaction score
So I've been reading a lot of how bad soy is for your body. I've been vegetarian for over 8 years, so I consume a lot of soy. I've been wanting to stop this, but I'm not sure what to do. I eat fish, so I'm not technically vegetarian (to me you're either veg or you're not, there's no in-between lacto-ovo, pescatarian, etc.).

Anyway, I have simple partial seizures that are about 80% controlled on Lamictal XR 100mg. I am seeing my neuro next week hoping to increase it and see if that works totally. I have only had one supposed grand-mal but I was alone so we can't be sure.

I feel like my epilepsy is pretty mild in the grand scheme of things. So would modifying my diet really be that important? I get my produce from a local CSA (community supported agriculture) so I eat a variety of fruits and vegetables. I eat almost entirely whole grains, natural cheese, fresh caught (aka not farmed) fish, and organic omega-3 eggs. I cook all sorts of things for myself. But a lot of it is made with tofu or tempeh. Should I stop eating them? Do you think it's a big deal? I also take B complex supplements, if that makes a difference.

Are there any other vegetarians or partial vegetarians with epilepsy?

Thanks!