Surgery - employment

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy Forums

Welcome to the Coping With Epilepsy forums - a peer support community for folks dealing (directly or indirectly) with seizure disorders. You can visit the forum page to see the list of forum nodes (categories/rooms) for topics.

Please have a look around and if you like what you see, please consider registering an account and joining the discussions. When you register an account and log in, you may enjoy additional benefits including no ads, access to members only (ie. private) forum nodes and more. Registering an account is free - you have nothing to lose!

Itr786

Stalwart
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I'm 90% sure I'll be going g ahead with surgery, I'm to see the surgeon to carry it out the procedure on October.

I work in a factory/assembly line type of environment with plenty of machinery around.
I'm questioning if, after I've had the surgery done whether it'll be a type of job I'll be able to carry on with.
I've worked at my current employers since I left school, so 'walking' straight into another job won't be possible.

I'm hoping I'll be able to carry on as I was, but that may not be realistic.
It's probably a difficult thing for people the answer unless they've actually seen the type of jobs I do, but what are people's opinions on what I should do?
It's a large organisation, so reasonable adjustments can be made, and (hopefully) cater for my needs. I'm from the UK.

Last edited:
I'm in Canada so cannot answer to problems that may arise that are specific to the UK, however a first thought that comes to mind is: were you able to get a reasonable time off work for the surgery and recovery?
Also, ask your doctor to specify exactly the "route" he will be taking to get to the focal point of your seizures; ie. what likely will you notice after surgery and will these be temporary or permanent.