Coping With Epilepsy Lennox-Gastaut Syndrome Foundation
Free Advertisement

Go Back   Epilepsy Forum > Peer Support > Surgery Central

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2016, 05:19 AM
Weaving the Community Fabric

Surgery - employment

Hi everyone,
I'm 90% sure I'll be going g ahead with surgery, I'm to see the surgeon to carry it out the procedure on October.

I work in a factory/assembly line type of environment with plenty of machinery around.
I'm questioning if, after I've had the surgery done whether it'll be a type of job I'll be able to carry on with.
I've worked at my current employers since I left school, so 'walking' straight into another job won't be possible.

I'm hoping I'll be able to carry on as I was, but that may not be realistic.
It's probably a difficult thing for people the answer unless they've actually seen the type of jobs I do, but what are people's opinions on what I should do?
It's a large organisation, so reasonable adjustments can be made, and (hopefully) cater for my needs. I'm from the UK.

Last edited by Itr786; 08-08-2016 at 05:21 AM.
Old 08-08-2016, 08:53 AM
Venerable Voice of CWE

Thanked 1,105 Times in 781 Posts
I'm in Canada so cannot answer to problems that may arise that are specific to the UK, however a first thought that comes to mind is: were you able to get a reasonable time off work for the surgery and recovery?
Also, ask your doctor to specify exactly the "route" he will be taking to get to the focal point of your seizures; ie. what likely will you notice after surgery and will these be temporary or permanent.
And finally, only your post-surgery experience will really let you know if you will be able to carry on with your current job.
Old 08-08-2016, 05:43 PM
CWE Supporter

Thanked 3,165 Times in 2,056 Posts
Originally Posted by Itr786 View Post:

I'm questioning if, after I've had the surgery done whether it'll be a type of job I'll be able to carry on with.